Request Inspection Copy

If you are an Academic or Teacher and wish to consider this book as a prescribed textbook for your course, you may be eligible for a complimentary inspection copy. Please complete this form, including information about your position, campus and course, before adding to cart.

* Required Fields

To complete your Inspection Copy Request you will need to click the Checkout button in the right margin and complete the checkout formalities. You can include Inspection Copies and purchased items in the same shopping cart, see our Inspection Copy terms for further information.

Any Questions? Please email our text Support Team on


Email this to a friend

* ALL required Fields

Order Inspection Copy

An inspection copy has been added to your shopping cart

Eight-Year-Old Legend Book

by Isabel Wyatt Floris Books
Pub Date:
Pbk 120 pages
AU$21.99 NZ$23.47
Product Status: In Stock Now
add to your cart
This collection of stories is based upon tales told by the Buddha to his monks 2500 years ago. Isabel Wyatt's enchanting retelling conjures up a rich world of eastern legend, ruled by courtly kings and wise men, and populated by brave princes, faithful elephants and cunning monkeys. The stories tell of great adventures and heroes, of danger and courage, and most importantly of how wisdom and thoughtfulness always triumph over selfishness and greed.

This anthology was compiled with children around the age of eight in mind - children who are embarking on more and more adventures in their own lives, and themselves learning to become clever and brave.
'For anyone who likes myths and folk tales, this book fulfills the need admirablywell worth buying'--Books for Keeps, no 179'The stories are gently paced and good for reading aloud.'-- Janet Dowling, The School Librarian, Winter 2009'A welcome change from the traditional stories we hear The tales are refreshingly uncomplicated'-- Armadillo Magazine Online, December 2009
Isabel Wyatt was born in England in 1901. She spent many years teaching young children and was then, until her retirement in 1965, co-director of studies at Hawkwood College in Gloucestershire. She compiled many books for children, including The Seven-Year-Old Wonder Book, Homer's Odyssey, King Beetle-Tamer and The Book of Fairy Princes. She died in 1992.