Request Inspection Copy

If you are an Academic or Teacher and wish to consider this book as a prescribed textbook for your course, you may be eligible for a complimentary inspection copy. Please complete this form, including information about your position, campus and course, before adding to cart.

* Required Fields

To complete your Inspection Copy Request you will need to click the Checkout button in the right margin and complete the checkout formalities. You can include Inspection Copies and purchased items in the same shopping cart, see our Inspection Copy terms for further information.

Any Questions? Please email our text Support Team on


Email this to a friend

* ALL required Fields

Order Inspection Copy

An inspection copy has been added to your shopping cart

Six Lives of Fankle the Cat 3ed

by George Mackay Brown Kelpies
Pub Date:
Pbk 128 pages
AU$19.99 NZ$20.86
Product Status: In Stock Now
add to your cart
When the shopkeeper gives Jenny a skinny, black kitten she has no idea who she has adopted. Fankle is no ordinary cat. The fiercely clever feline has lived six lives so far: lives of adventure, danger, fortune and poverty. He's stared down angry pirates, started a blood feud, won a war, advised an empress and leapt onto the moon. Fankle tells Jenny tales of his former lives with the king of pirates, in ancient Egypt, and even with the Empress of China. So what is he doing living in a crofters cottage in Orkney? This classic novel by George Mackay Brown is a rich and rewarding read for adults and children alike.
Praise for the previous edition
'Reading this book is pure joy.'-- The Scotsman'A book to be read aloud and enjoyed by adults and children alike.'-- Shelf Life, Summer 2002

'The theme of the book is the power of narrative. Living as she does for story making, Jenny projects her skill on to Fankle. The village schoolchildren are asked to write about Fankle, and their efforts make up the central chapter of the novel. There is stimulus here for readers' own writing. Mackay Brown modulates the mood delicately -- amusing, roistering, and touching. Underlying there is a wistful reminder that all lives, not only Fankle's, are brief and that humans, unlike cats, have only one.'-- Treasure Island: A guide to Scottish fiction for young readers aged 10-14, Summer 2003
George Mackay Brown (191796) was a poet, novelist and dramatist, who spent his life living in and documenting the Orkney Isles. He found inspiration from the culture, land and oral tradition of the islands. He published almost 50 works including novel Greenvoe and poetry collection The Storm. Six Lives of Fankle the Cat is one of three books he wrote for children.