Request Inspection Copy

If you are an Academic or Teacher and wish to consider this book as a prescribed textbook for your course, you may be eligible for a complimentary inspection copy. Please complete this form, including information about your position, campus and course, before adding to cart.

* Required Fields

To complete your Inspection Copy Request you will need to click the Checkout button in the right margin and complete the checkout formalities. You can include Inspection Copies and purchased items in the same shopping cart, see our Inspection Copy terms for further information.

Any Questions? Please email our text Support Team on text@footprint.com.au

Submit

Email this to a friend

* ALL required Fields

Order Inspection Copy

An inspection copy has been added to your shopping cart

Iconography of Chance: 99 Photographs of the Evanescent South

by Tav Falco and Alberto Garcia-Alix Solar Book
Pub Date:
11/2015
ISBN:
9780983248088
Format:
Hbk 216 pages
Price:
AU$123.00 NZ$126.96
Product Status: Available in Approx 14 days
add to your cart
Countercultural musician, performer, filmmaker, and photographer Tav Falco was born and raised in the American South. In An Iconography of Chance, Falco guides us through the hometowns and gravel roads of this region and introduces us to the backwoods spiritual sanctuary that he knows so well.

This limited edition book offers nearly one hundred arresting photographs of roadside icons in Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, and Tennessee. Falco's eye is drawn to that which others have overlooked, discarded, and rejected. Whether overtly or discreetly conjured, through his lens, these forlorn and adrift items and mdash;urban specters, rural fables, and visual clich and eacute;s and mdash;become living, breathing images that agitate the dark waters of the unconscious.

In Falco's hands, the camera captures the very heart of the gothic South, a netherworld of dreams and mdash;and terrors. This multilingual book, which accompanies a traveling exhibition by the Ogden Museum of Southern Art and Music in New Orleans, will appeal to readers of English, Spanish, French, or German. Including a prologue by renowned photographer Alberto Garcia-Alix, An Iconography of Chance offers a magnetic portrait of a place as fascinating as it is disturbing.
Tav Falco is the leader of the psychedelic rock and roll group Tav Falco's Panther Burns. He currently resides in Vienna.