Results 46 to 60 of 498

Censoring the Word

by Julian Petley Seagull Books
Pub Date:
10/2007
ISBN:
9781905422548
Format:
Hbk 128 pages

Since the Enlightenment, freedom of expression has been regarded as one of the hallmarks of Western democratic societies. In the...

  • AU$39.99
  • NZ$40.86
Available in Approx 14 days
add to your cart

Philosophy of Living

by Francois Jullien Seagull Books
Pub Date:
12/2015
ISBN:
9780857422163
Format:
Hbk 256 pages

Living holds us between two places. It expresses what is most elementary—to be alive—and the absoluteness of our aspiration—finally...

  • AU$55.99
  • NZ$60.86
In Stock Now
add to your cart

Circus Girl

by Nola Rae Seagull Books
Pub Date:
11/2010
ISBN:
9781906497330
Format:
Hbk 142 pages

Circuses provide surreal, fantastic entertainment. At times magical and at others chilling, the circus is a world of magic and...

  • AU$67.00
  • NZ$69.57
Available in Approx 14 days
add to your cart

Honolulu Pact

by Michael S Koyama Seagull Books
Pub Date:
09/2013
ISBN:
9780857421050
Format:
Hbk 230 pages

When this thriller opens only eleven months before the general election, an unusual number of candidates are already dropping...

  • AU$49.99
  • NZ$53.90
In Stock Now
add to your cart

Dark Company: A Novel in Ten Rainy Nights

by Gert Loschutz Seagull Books
Pub Date:
05/2013
ISBN:
9780857420855
Format:
Hbk 166 pages

“Of course I had to end up here . . .”Over ten rainy nights, Thomas, an ex-bargeman who used to be skipper of his own boat,...

  • AU$41.99
  • NZ$43.47
In Stock Now
add to your cart

Suspended Passion: Interviews

by Marguerite Duras Seagull Books
Pub Date:
07/2016
ISBN:
9780857423290
Format:
Hbk 136 pages

A controversial figure of the postwar French literary and cultural scene, Marguerite Duras has exerted a powerful hold on readers...

  • AU$51.99
  • NZ$53.90
Available in Approx 14 days
add to your cart

Unlikely Progeny

by Linda Quilt Seagull Books
Pub Date:
11/2010
ISBN:
9781906497668
Format:
Hbk 141 pages

In the tradition of Edward Lear, Hilaire Belloc, and G. K. Chesterton, Linda Quilt’s imaginative fables recount the adventures...

  • AU$42.99
  • NZ$45.21
In Stock Now
add to your cart

Air Raid

by Alexander Kluge Seagull Books
Pub Date:
10/2014
ISBN:
9780857420794
Format:
Hbk 138 pages

On April 8, 1945, several American bomber squadrons were informed that their German targets were temporarily unavailable due to...

  • AU$41.99
  • NZ$43.47
In Stock Now
add to your cart

Censoring Sexuality

by Paul Bailey Seagull Books
Pub Date:
05/2008
ISBN:
9781905422562
Format:
Hbk 160 pages

Despite Western culture's roots and much touted pride in its classical Greek and Roman legacy, the sexual freedoms of the ancient...

  • AU$39.99
  • NZ$41.73
Available in Approx 14 days
add to your cart

Correspondence: Pablo Picasso and Gertrude Stein

by Pablo Picasso and Gertrude Stein Seagull Books
Pub Date:
08/2018
ISBN:
9780857425850
Format:
Pb+ 390 pages

Pablo Picasso and Gertrude Stein. Few can be said to have had as broad an impact on European art in the twentieth century as these...

  • AU$65.99
  • NZ$69.56
In Stock Now
add to your cart

Totalitarian Experience

by Tzvetan Todorov Seagull Books
Pub Date:
11/2011
ISBN:
9780857420138
Format:
Hbk 64 pages

The fall of the Berlin Wall marked the beginning of the collapse of the Soviet Union, as well as many other communist totalitarian...

  • AU$28.99
  • NZ$29.56
In Stock Now
add to your cart

Immaterial

by Andre Gorz Seagull Books
Pub Date:
11/2010
ISBN:
9781906497613
Format:
Hbk 209 pages

In The Immaterial, French social philosopher André Gorz (1923–2007) argues, in his finely-tuned and polemical style, that the...

  • AU$41.99
  • NZ$43.47
In Stock Now
add to your cart

Three Plays: Philoctetes, The Horatian, Mauser

by Heiner Muller Seagull Books
Pub Date:
09/2011
ISBN:
9781906497828
Format:
Pbk 138 pages

Despite being widely acknowledged as one of the most important German dramatists since Bertolt Brecht, Heiner Müller (1929–95)...

  • AU$41.99
  • NZ$43.47
Available in Approx 14 days
add to your cart

Back in the USSR

by Boris Kagarlitsky Seagull Books
Pub Date:
11/2009
ISBN:
9781906497279
Format:
Hbk 88 pages

Though it has been nearly two decades since the fall of Communism in the former Soviet Union and the accompanying disintegration...

  • AU$29.99
  • NZ$30.43
Available in Approx 14 days
add to your cart

Signs and Images. Writings on Art, Cinema and Photography: Essays and Interviews, Volume 4

by Roland Barthes Seagull Books
Pub Date:
07/2016
ISBN:
9780857422415
Format:
Hbk 168 pages

Last season, Seagull Books published the first three volumes in a new series collecting essays and interviews by the late French...

  • AU$46.99
  • NZ$48.69
In Stock Now
add to your cart
Page 4 of 34 Top